So close

The Net Loft

It was a wild idea to start
We were lost in an hour, everything came apart
In the middle of nowhere
Oh man hey look where we are

I know your teeth are shut and proud
But there are rhythms in the city make your head feel loud
Uh-huh so get it out, get it out

You are a long ways up river from home
Right here this water is mean but its the same as your own
You better swim for your life
It’s both at the same time

It was a wild idea to start
A drip on the head got it wet in the heart
And it looked just like a river but was a freeway in the dark
Oh in the dark

Oh you’re always so damn ready oh
Oh were you always so ready oh
I never want to call it off
I never want to call it off oh
I’ve never been that ready
I’ve never been this ready
In my life

I posted these lyrics and picture a couple months ago.  I was homesick and had just moved into the city and I missed Oregon.
Hands down my favorite Blind Pilot song.  Their new album just came out (not schedule until tomorrow, but I got a download email today, so I’m happy!).  It’s brilliant.  “Get It Out” is on it and I love it just as much as I always have.  I can’t wait to get a record player so I can buy 3 Rounds & A Sound and We Are The Tide on vinyl, light a candle, and listen to them while laying on the ground a la  Almost Famous.
My first listen through I closed my bedroom door, opened my bedroom window, and turned down the lights.  There was a perfect breeze.  The only thing missing was the sea-lions.

My sweet Explorer and I just spent two weeks together.
We haven’t spent this much time together since I moved to Seattle a year and a half ago.  It was amazing.  It was wonderful.  I fell more in love with him every single day.  I can’t wait to marry him.
In eight weeks I’ll be an Astoria girl again.  I’ll be sad to leave Becky, 127th St, New Vision, and my awesome coworkers, but I am so ready to get out of the city.  I may be a small town girl, but I’m a small town girl who has lived in the middle of the hustle and bustle and realized it’s not for me.  Don’t get me wrong, I do love Seattle.  But the list of city things I’m growing tired of is getting longer and longer.

I love this city, especially on brilliantly blue, hot days and deliciously grey, wet ones.  But I miss seeing the stars.  I miss hearing sea-lions, frogs, and crickets instead of sirens, crackheads, and neighbors who blast Destiny’s Child at midnight.  I miss watching the river.  I miss hearing fog horns.
I miss The Explorer more than words can say.

One thought on “So close

Leave a Reply

