Dance. Therapy.

I’ll let you in on a little secret.
I adore dance.
Shocking, I know.

I really didn’t want to go to rehearsal yesterday.
I slept in and lazed around the house all morningafternoon and the thought of having to get dressed and move for four hours was just not appealing. I didn’t feel like going. I didn’t want to go.
What I wanted was to be a less responsible person and just not show up. Claim I was sick or out of town or was abducted by aliens. Anything but go to rehearsal. I shook my fists in the general direction of my parents for making me so responsible.
But I got dressed, blasted Michael Franti pandora, and walked to rehearsal.
Man, I’m so glad I did.

We were all kind of lackluster. The first piece we worked on is a very angry-woman, men-are-dumb, booty dance. We all looked like we had just rolled out of bed. About twenty minutes into rehearsal Rochelle told us a bit more about the piece and something clicked in us all. The next time we ran it, we rocked it. We were awesome. From that moment, rehearsal was so great!
That’s why I love dance. Because when you’re not in the best of moods and you throw yourself into your dance, you end up elated.
We danced so hard for the next three and a half hours and we were totally jazzed by the time we were done. We were whooping and hollering and living it up. We had more energy at the end of a long, hard, four hour rehearsal than at the beginning!

“As a writer, I couldn’t help but try to quantify how many words are contained within a single movement. Take for example, hands clutching the throat that certain way, or falling prone to the floor. The body is more than a means of conveyance from birth to death, a biological system that once wound down can never be started up again. The body is a tool of expression, a voice, common to all cultures, all languages, yet owing to none. As their movements flowed from one to the next like rhyme, the choreographers spoke about projecting emotion to inform the movements and determining focus to bring the steps to life. This is the content of dance. The language of the body.”

– excerpt from the 127th St Dance Company blog, written by Joe Pierangeli

Leave a Reply

