I’ve got nothing on my mind

The Net Loft

It was a wild idea to start
We were lost in an hour, every thinking part
In the middle of nowhere
Oh man hey look where we are

I know your teeth are shut and proud
But there are rhythms in the city make your head feel loud
Uh-huh so get it out, get it out

You are a long ways up river from home
Right here this water is mean but its the same as your own
You better swim for your life
It’s both at the same time

It was a wild idea to start
A drip on the head got it wet in the heart
And it looked just like a river but was a freeway in the dark
Oh in the dark
Oh you’re always so damn ready oh
Oh were you always so damn ready oh
I never want to call it off
I never want to call it off oh
Never been that ready
I never want to call it off
I never want to call it off oh
I’ve never been this ready
In my life

I don’t know if Blind Pilot makes me more or less homesick.
And I don’t know if I think of Big Red whenever I hear them because of the video or because they’re both so perfectly Astoria.
I want a Charm Studio print with those bolded lyrics.

I love and adore Seattle and being here in the city.
But I miss Oregon. For reasons I can’t even begin to put my finger on. Seattle and Portland are so similar. Western Washington and Western Oregon may as well be the same state. The things I love about Oregon are the things I love about Washington: trees, mountains, water. I see Puget Sound every day at work. The Olympics and Cascades are turning white again. There are trees everywhere.
I don’t know.

I wasn’t homesick until Blind Pilot started to play.

One thought on “I’ve got nothing on my mind

Leave a Reply

