Snow dogs and igloos

.93 Go on a cruise

Mama and I, 1990

We lived in Alaska for three years when I was little. My first memories are in our first house on Kodiak.
I remember loving it so much there. I thought it was beautiful – but it was also the only thing I knew. I had nothing to compare it to. Yes, we made trips to Seattle to visit family, but we spent the majority of those three years in Alaska.

One summer when I was 3 or 4, my Great Grandma Mariam and Grandpa Frank came to visit.
We made a trip to Denali National Park. It was beautiful. That same summer we watched mushers from the Iditarod at exhibition races.

We also went on a weekend cruise.
I don’t remember a whole heck of a lot from it, but I loved being out there on the water. The only real distinct memory I have is the bunk bed ladder in our cabin falling during the night and hitting my Dad in the head.

I can’t wait to get back to Alaska. I’ve seen so much of the country now, I know I’ll appreciate her beauty so much more. Maybe next summer The Explorer and I will spend our vacation there?

Leave a Reply

